Researched and fact-checked through the J-Compass editorial process; our editorial team reviews sourcing and accuracy before publishing. See our methodology →
Walking the Nakasendo: Magome to Tsumago and Beyond
The Magome to Tsumago hike is a walk of about 9 km along a preserved stretch of the Nakasendo, an Edo-period highway, crossing Magome Pass from Gifu Prefecture into Nagano Prefecture.123 The walk itself is gentle, but rural bus timetables, a seasonal luggage service, and bear activity in the surrounding forests decide how smoothly the day goes.
Fees, rules, and requirements can change. Confirm current details at the Magome Tourism Association (Gifu side) and the Nagiso Town Tourism Association (Tsumago, Nagano side) websites.
Overview
What the Nakasendo was
The Nakasendo was one of the five Edo-period highways administered by the shogunate, and with the Tokaido it was one of the two most important routes linking Edo and Kyoto.3 Where the Tokaido ran mostly along the coast and carried more travelers, the Nakasendo crossed mountain terrain over a total length of about 530 km.3
The road had 69 post towns, official stopping places where travelers could rest.4 Its name, "road through the mountains," fits best the roughly 80 km through the Kiso Valley, the section the novelist Shimazaki Toson described with the line "the Kiso road lies entirely in the mountains."3
The Kiso Valley stretch, called the Kisoji, runs from Niekawa-juku to Magome-juku and held 11 post towns.56 Some sources, including Nagano Prefecture's tourism site, count 13 post towns in the region without listing them.7
| Term | Reading | Meaning |
|---|---|---|
| 中山道 | Nakasendō | "Central mountain road," one of the five Edo-period highways linking Edo and Kyoto3 |
| 五街道 | Gokaidō | The five main Edo-period highways administered by the shogunate3 |
| 木曽路 | Kisoji | The Nakasendo section through the Kiso Valley, Niekawa-juku to Magome-juku5 |
| 宿場 / 宿 | shukuba / -juku | Post town, an official stopping place on a highway4 |
| 本陣 / 脇本陣 | honjin / waki-honjin | The official inn for feudal lords, and the secondary official inn8 |
| 立場茶屋 | tateba-jaya | A rest-stop teahouse between post towns9 |
| 関所 | sekisho | A highway checkpoint10 |
Two towns, two prefectures
Magome-juku is in Nakatsugawa City, Gifu Prefecture. Tsumago-juku is in Nagiso Town, Nagano Prefecture, and 馬籠峠 (Magome-tōge, "Magome Pass"), at 790 m, is the border between the two prefectures.11112
The border has practical consequences. Each town has its own tourism association and website: the Magome Tourism Association on the Gifu side and the Nagiso Town Tourism Association, which runs the Tsumago tourist information center, on the Nagano side.2112
Each side also has its own bus operator and its own prefectural bear-alert system.13141516 When a fact in this guide comes from one side, it applies to that side only; check the other side's source before assuming the same rule holds there.
Who the walk suits
Both tourism associations and JR Central put the route at about 9 km, with walking-time estimates of 2.5–3 hours (as of October 2026; confirm current figures with the Nagiso Town Tourism Association or the Magome Tourism Association).1217 JNTO notes that signage is in English and Japanese (as of October 2026).18
The Magome Tourism Association recommends easy-to-walk shoes such as sneakers (as of October 2026).19 This is a walk on a historic road between villages, not alpine hiking; trail grades, mountain huts, and gear for high-mountain routes are covered in Hiking in Japan: Trail Grades, Seasons, and Mountain Huts.
The Tsumago side also publishes a shorter, lower-effort option: ride a bus or car up to Magome Pass and walk only the downhill section to Tsumago, which takes about 1.5 hours at an easy pace (as of October 2026).1 The Nagiso Town bus has a Magome Pass stop, so this works by public transport (as of the April 2026 timetable).20
The Magome to Tsumago Walk
Distance, elevation, and time
The route is about 9 km long and crosses Magome Pass at 790 m.12 The walking times below are the tourist associations' own estimates (as of October 2026; confirm current figures with the Nagiso Town Tourism Association or the Magome Tourism Association).
| Leg | Typical time | As of | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Whole walk, Magome to Tsumago | 2.5–3 h (Tsumago side); about 3 h (Magome side) | 2026-1012 | Walking time only; add time for stops |
| Magome Pass to Tsumago (descent) | About 1.5 h, unhurried | 2026-101 | The basis for the short downhill-only course |
Neither association publishes a separate time for the climb from Magome to the pass. The Tsumago side describes it as a short, steep slope, while the climb from Tsumago to the pass is long and gentle.1
Which direction to walk
Starting in Magome front-loads the effort: a short, steep climb to the pass, then a long, gentle descent to Tsumago.1 Starting in Tsumago reverses this into a long, gentle climb followed by a short, steep drop into Magome.1
Both directions are manageable at ordinary fitness. The tourist-office luggage service also runs from either end, so the choice does not lock you out of it (as of October 2026).111
What you pass along the way
Stone-paved sections of the old road are part of the route.2 About midway stands the 一石栃立場茶屋 (Ichikokutochi tateba-jaya, an Edo-period rest house), which the Tsumago side describes as a free rest stop (as of October 2026).21
The building is about 200 years old, with a packed-earth floor, an 囲炉裏 (irori, "sunken hearth"), and tatami rooms, and Tsumago's residents' preservation group manages it.9 The Magome side says tea is served there (as of October 2026), but no official page publishes its opening season or hours.2 Treat a cup of tea as a possibility, not something to plan the day around.
On the Nagiso side, the trail passes the 男滝・女滝 (Odaki and Medaki, the "male" and "female" waterfalls). The Nakasendo now runs above the falls, though it is thought to have run below them in the late Edo period, and the male fall appears in Yoshikawa Eiji's novel Musashi.21
Between the pass and Tsumago, the Nagiso Town bus stops at a string of points along the walking corridor, including Ichikoku, the waterfalls, and Ōtsumago (as of the April 2026 timetable).20 If the walk takes longer than planned, these stops offer a way to cut it short, subject to the few daily departures covered below.
The completion certificate
The tourist information centers sell a hinoki (Japanese cypress) walking completion certificate for ¥300 (as of October 2026).1 If your lodging gives you a Tsumago-Magome hiking ticket, exchange it at the tourist office at the end of the walk, in either town, and the certificate costs ¥150 (as of October 2026).1
Getting There and Back
From Nakatsugawa Station to Magome
The Gifu-side approach is the Kitaena Kotsu Magome Line bus from JR Nakatsugawa Station. The adult fare is ¥800 one way (as of the March 2025 fare revision; confirm current figures with Kitaena Kotsu), and the ride takes about 25 minutes (as of the October 2025 timetable).2223
The operator describes paying cash into the fare box, with an automatic change machine on board that does not change ¥10,000, ¥5,000, or ¥2,000 notes, and does not state whether IC cards are accepted (as of October 2026).13 Bring yen coins or ¥1,000 notes rather than assuming a transit card will work. JR Central gives about 50 minutes from Nagoya to Nakatsugawa by Limited Express Shinano before the bus (as of October 2026).24
Since October 2025, Kitaena Kotsu also runs a route from Nakatsugawa Station via Sakashita to Tsumago and Nagiso Station, introduced partly to relieve crowding on the Magome bus.25 The full Nakatsugawa to Tsumago or Nagiso Station fare is ¥1,400; weekdays have two departures, both continuing to Nagiso Station, while weekends and holidays have up to five that end at Tsumago (as of October 2025).25 The route does not cross Magome Pass, so it suits walkers who want to start or finish on the Tsumago side while using Nakatsugawa as their rail station.2526
Kitaena also sells a two-day sightseeing ticket valid on its Magome and Tsumago routes and on the Nagiso Town bus lines; the operator page does not list a price (as of October 2026).27
From Nagiso Station to Tsumago
The Nagano-side approach is the Nagiso Town community bus from JR Nagiso Station. Two lines serve Tsumago: the Tsumago Line (Nagiso Station to Tsumago only) and the Magome Line (Nagiso Station, Tsumago, Magome Pass, Magome), and both run daily (as of April 2026).2028 The town's fares are below.
| Section | Adult | Child (elementary) | As of | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nagiso Station to Tsumago | ¥300 | ¥100 | 2026-04-0114 | Tsumago Line or Magome Line |
| Magome Pass to Magome | ¥300 | ¥100 | 2026-04-0114 | Section outside Nagiso Town |
| Nagiso Station to Magome (crossing the pass) | ¥1,000 | ¥500 | 2026-04-0114 | Magome Line only; preschool children ride free on all sections |
The ride from Tsumago to Nagiso Station takes about 8 minutes (as of April 2026).28 The Magome Line runs only four or five times a day in each direction (as of April 2026), so the Nagiso to Magome connection needs planning.20
You can pay cash on board. For IC-card or credit-card payment, the only routes are tickets bought in advance at the Tsumago tourist information center or a mobile ticket on the QUICK TRIP app, and both are valid only on the Magome Line and the town's Hogami Line, not on the Tsumago Line (as of March 2026).14 The town introduced the Tsumago counter sales to reduce congestion when passengers get off.14
Last buses and rural frequency
These are rural routes with few departures, and the last convenient bus comes earlier than in a city. The table below gives the last departures from each end of the walk; the timetable dates differ by operator, as the As of column shows.
| Route | Last departure | As of | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Magome to Nakatsugawa Station (Kitaena) | 18:15 daily | 2025-10-01 timetable2329 | Weekday and holiday timetables |
| Magome to Tsumago and Nagiso Station (Nagiso Town, Magome Line) | 17:15 | 2026-04-01 timetable20 | Reaches Tsumago at 17:41 |
| Tsumago to Nagiso Station (Nagiso Town, Tsumago Line) | 16:10 | 2026-04-01 timetable28 | The Magome Line's 17:41 is later |
| Tsumago to Nakatsugawa Station (Kitaena) | 16:22 weekdays; 16:20 weekends and holidays | 2025-10-01 timetable25 | Via Sakashita |
Neither operator publishes a separate winter timetable for these lines; the Nagiso lines are marked as running every day and Kitaena publishes weekday and holiday tables only (as of October 2026).20282329 How fare tickets, fare boards, and payment work on Japanese rural buses in general is covered in Local Buses: Getting Around in Rail-Sparse Regions.
On the Nagiso side, the Magome Line has only four or five departures a day each way (as of April 2026).20 Note the last bus from your finishing town, and the one before it, before you set off from the other end.
Reaching the valley by rail
Both gateway stations sit on the JR Chuo Line, which runs parallel to the Nakasendo through the Kiso Valley, with stations near the main post towns.7 The diagram shows the stations relevant to this guide, from Nagoya in the south to Matsumoto in the north.303132
Some Limited Express Shinano trains stop at Nagiso: four services checked in the October 2026 timetable on JR East's site called at Nakatsugawa, Nagiso, and Kiso-Fukushima (as of October 2026).30333435 Not every service has been verified, so check the stops for your specific train. None of those four stops at Yabuhara or Narai.30333435
The Tsumago tourist site gives about 2 hours 40 minutes from Tokyo to Nagiso, by Nozomi shinkansen to Nagoya and then Limited Express Shinano (as of October 2026).36 Whether a rail pass pays off for this leg is covered in Chubu and Hokuriku Logistics: Passes, Buses, and Loop Routes.
Luggage Forwarding Between Magome and Tsumago
How the tourist-office service works
The Tsumago side runs a 手荷物運搬サービス (tenimotsu unpan sābisu, "hand-luggage transport service"): you leave your bags at the tourist information center in the town where you start in the morning and collect them at the other end in the afternoon.1 The service covers Tsumago, Ōtsumago, and Magome. Its terms are below (as of October 2026; confirm current figures with the Nagiso Town Tourism Association).1
| Item | Detail | As of | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Service period | 2026-03-20 to 2026-11-30 | 2026-101 | Seasonal; dates are set each year |
| Fee | ¥1,000 per bag | 2026-101 | |
| Drop-off | 8:30–11:30 | 2026-101 | At the starting tourist information center |
| Collection | 13:00–17:00 | 2026-101 | At the other end |
| Special run (臨時便, rinjibin) | ¥4,500 per run for up to 3 bags; ¥1,000 per bag from the 4th | 2026-101 | For requests outside the drop-off hours |
On the Magome side, the 馬籠宿BASE (Magome-juku BASE) counter beside the Magome bus stop handles forwarding and storage under its own price list (as of October 2026).1137
| Service at Magome-juku BASE | Price | As of | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Magome to the Tsumago tourist information center | ¥1,000 | 2026-1011 | Reception 8:30–11:30 |
| Magome to Nagiso Station | ¥3,000 first bag; ¥1,500 each additional | 2026-1011 | Collected at a café near the station |
| Magome to your lodging | First bag priced by distance; ¥1,000 each additional | 2026-1011 | |
| Same-day storage at BASE | ¥500 | 2026-1011 |
Neither association publishes which payment methods the luggage service accepts (as of October 2026).111 Have cash ready in case cards are not taken.
The basic same-day flow is short enough to show as a decision (dates and windows as of October 2026).1
With bags forwarded, you walk with only a daypack, and you can finish in either town without backtracking for luggage. Drop-off closes at 11:30, so a late start rules out the standard ¥1,000 rate (as of October 2026).1
When the service is not running
The per-bag service runs only from 2026-03-20 to 2026-11-30 (as of October 2026).1 Sources describe the higher-priced alternative differently: the Tsumago side ties its ¥4,500 special run to requests outside reception hours, and Nagano Prefecture's tourism site describes delivery as more expensive between December and mid-March (as of April 2025).17 Outside the season, ask the tourist information center whether a special run is available, and do not assume one will be.
Other fallbacks exist on the Magome side. Coin lockers stand beside the Magome-kan building, and the tourist information center offers storage (as of October 2026).19 Magome-juku BASE can also send bags to your lodging or to Nagiso Station, as listed above.11
For storing bags at the gateway stations, see Coin Lockers: Sizing, Cost, and the Real Risk of None Available. For sending bags hotel to hotel by courier, see Luggage Forwarding in Japan: How Takkyubin Courier Services Work.
Beyond the Classic Section
Narai-juku
奈良井宿 (Narai-juku) is the 34th post town counted from either Edo or Kyoto, the exact middle of the Nakasendo.38 It is in Shiojiri City, Nagano, outside Kiso District.38
The town stretches about 1 km from north to south, the longest post town on the Nakasendo, and once held more than 1,000 houses.67 It prospered on overnight guests and on locally produced lacquerware, and was designated an Important Preservation District for Groups of Traditional Buildings in 1978.738 JR Narai Station on the Chuo Line serves it directly.7
Yabuhara to Narai over Torii Pass
The walk from Yabuhara-juku (in Kiso Village) to Narai-juku crosses 鳥居峠 (Torii-tōge, "Torii Pass") at 1,197 m and is about 6 km long.31732 Nagano Prefecture's tourism site gives 3–3.5 hours (as of April 2025; confirm current figures with Nagano Prefecture's tourism site, Go Nagano), and its Japanese course data adds up to about 3 hours.731
The route includes restored stone-paved sections, an old battlefield site at Naka-no-chaya, and a shrine near the summit.31 It makes a reasonable second walking day after Magome to Tsumago.
The Shiojiri City Tourism Association announced a full closure of the footpath on the Narai side of the pass, for repairs to two bridges, from 2026-03-02 to 2026-04-24, with a detour available (as of March 2026).32 No reopening notice was found. Check with the Shiojiri City Tourism Association before you plan the walk.
Kiso-Fukushima and the other Kiso post towns
Kiso-Fukushima, in Kiso Town, held one of the Nakasendo's four checkpoints,7 which Kiso Town counts among Japan's four great checkpoints.10 For about 270 years it controlled traffic on the road, watching in particular for firearms heading in and women heading out.10
The checkpoint museum, the 福島関所資料館 (Fukushima Sekisho Shiryōkan), sets its own hours: 9:00–16:30, closed Tuesdays and over the New Year period, with adult admission ¥300 (as of November 2025).10 The Uenodan post-town street is within about 10 minutes' walk of Kiso-Fukushima Station (as of April 2025).7
Of the 11 Kiso post towns, Tsumago was the smallest, about 250 m from north to south.6 Narai, Yabuhara, and Kiso-Fukushima each sit on the Chuo Line, as the route diagram above shows.73132
Multi-day walks
JNTO notes that the full trail can be walked in four to five days, with some hikers doing it in three (as of October 2026).18 Commercial operators sell guided and self-guided multi-day walks built on pre-booked inns and luggage transfers between stops; JNTO notes that luggage forwarding is available on the trail (as of October 2026).18
Staying Overnight in the Post Towns
Day trip or overnight
A day trip from Nagoya works by rail and bus: about 50 minutes to Nakatsugawa by Limited Express Shinano, then about 25 minutes by bus to Magome (as of October 2026; confirm current figures with JR Central).24 Shinano 1 left Nagoya at 07:00 and reached Nagiso at 08:00 in the October 2026 timetable (as of October 2026).30
During the day, both main streets are closed to vehicles: inside Tsumago-juku from 10:00 to 16:00, and in Magome from 10:00 to 16:00 (as of October 2026).3639 For autumn 2026, Meitetsu Bus and Tohtetsu run a reservation-only direct bus from Nagoya to Magome and Tsumago daily from 2026-10-17 to 2026-11-29, at ¥3,000 one way for adults (as of October 2026).40
Staying overnight in either town removes the dependence on early trains and the last bus, at the cost of an overnight stay.
Booking minshuku and small inns
At a 民宿 (minshuku, "family-run guesthouse") or small inn, payment methods, dinner times, curfews, and cancellation terms are set by each inn, not by the towns; check them with the individual inn before you book. One sourced benefit applies across lodgings: inns issue the Tsumago-Magome hiking ticket that halves the completion-certificate price to ¥150 (as of October 2026).1
How family-run guesthouses work in general, from meals to house rules, is covered in Minshuku and Family-Run Guest Inns.
Bears and Trail Safety
The 2025–2026 bear context on this trail
Asian black bears live in the forests on both sides of the pass, and the two prefectures run separate alert systems.1516 On the Nagano side, the prefecture issued a bear-appearance advisory for the Kiso region, including Nagiso, from 2026-06-12, and upgraded it to a warning from 2026-06-26 to 2026-07-10 after June sightings in residential areas reached about 2.3 times a normal June.4142 Nagano's bear page states that no warnings or advisories are in force (as of 2026-10-09; confirm current status with Nagano Prefecture's bear information page).15
On the Gifu side, the prefecture's bear-appearance caution is in force until the bears hibernate, issued after injuries elsewhere in the prefecture in August 2026 (as of August 2026).16 Nakatsugawa City relayed the caution to residents on 2026-08-10 (as of August 2026).43
No closure or restriction of the Magome to Tsumago trail was found on any official page checked, including both tourist associations' walking pages, Nakatsugawa City's notice, and both prefectural bear pages (as of 2026-10-10).12151643 Nagano Prefecture notes that about 70% of bear injuries in the prefecture happen inside forests (as of 2026-10-09).15
The absence of a trail closure does not mean bears are absent from the area. Ask the tourist information center or your lodging about recent sightings on the day you walk, as Nagano Prefecture advises (as of 2026-10-09).15
Bells, timing, and checking sightings
The Tsumago side recommends carrying something that makes a sound, such as a bell, and both tourist associations sell or rent クマよけ鈴 (kuma-yoke suzu, "bear bells") (as of October 2026).12
| Item | Amount | As of | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rental deposit, paid when borrowing | ¥2,100 | 2026-101 | |
| Refund on return | ¥2,000 | 2026-101 | Net rental cost ¥100 |
| Purchase | ¥2,000 per bell | 2026-101 |
You can rent at one end and return at the other: the Tsumago tourist information center or the Magome tourist information center (as of October 2026).1 Nakatsugawa City advises avoiding forests and riverbanks in the early morning and at dusk, and walking in groups (as of August 2026).43
For current sightings, Nagano Prefecture directs visitors to municipalities, tourist information centers, and lodgings, and Gifu Prefecture publishes a bear map (as of October 2026).1516 Species, encounter protocol, and bear spray are covered in Bear Safety in Japan for Hikers and Rural Travelers.
Seasons and Crowds
Spring and Golden Week
The luggage service opens on 2026-03-20 (as of October 2026; confirm current figures with the Nagiso Town Tourism Association).1 Kitaena's extra weekend run on the Nakatsugawa to Tsumago route operates only from March to June and from September to November (as of October 2025).25
The Nagiso Town Magome Line adds an extra early run from April 25 to May 6, which covers Golden Week (as of April 2026).20 Planning around Japan's domestic holiday peak is covered in Golden Week and Obon: The Domestic-Travel-Crowding Weeks to Plan Around.
Summer
The Magome Line's extra early run returns from July 25 to August 23 (as of April 2026).20 The trail has no streetlights, and the Magome side asks walkers to start by 15:00 in summer (as of October 2026).2
Heat and heatstroke precautions are covered in Summer Heat and Heatstroke for Visitors.
Autumn foliage
Autumn color in the Kiso Valley arrives on a forecast, not a fixed date; regional timing is covered in Koyo Forecasting and Regional Timing in Japan. The seasonal direct bus from Nagoya runs from 2026-10-17 to 2026-11-29 (as of October 2026).40
Autumn also falls inside Gifu Prefecture's bear caution, which stays in force until hibernation (as of August 2026).16 The per-bag luggage service ends on 2026-11-30 (as of October 2026).1
Winter
After 2026-11-30 the per-bag luggage service stops until it resumes on 2026-03-20 (as of October 2026).1 The Magome Tourism Association notes snow cover is possible from roughly December to March.19
The Magome side asks walkers to start by 14:00 in winter, because the trail has no streetlights (as of October 2026).2
Fitting the Walk Into a Chubu Itinerary
The Kiso Valley sits on the JR Chuo Line between Nagoya and Matsumoto. In the October 2026 timetable, Shinano 1 left Nagoya at 07:00, called at Nakatsugawa at 07:48, Nagiso at 08:00, and Kiso-Fukushima at 08:28, and reached Matsumoto at 09:08 (as of October 2026; confirm current times with JR East or JR Central).30
JR Central's own itinerary pairs the Magome to Tsumago walk with Kiso-Fukushima and Matsumoto Castle.17 From the Hida side, Nohi Bus runs a seasonal bus from Takayama and Gero to Magome and Tsumago from 2026-04-01 to 2026-11-30, booked online, at ¥5,000 one way from Takayama (as of October 2026).44
For the regional picture, see Chubu and Hokuriku Orientation: Japan's Mountain Heartland. The northern pairing is covered in Matsumoto and Nagano: Castles, Temples, and Snow Monkeys, and travelers comparing preserved townscapes can look at Takayama and Shirakawa-go: Edo-Era Streets and Gassho Villages.
Good to know
Two tourist offices, two sets of rules
Magome and Tsumago publish their information separately. The Tsumago tourist information center is open 8:30–17:00 (as of October 2026; confirm current hours with the Nagiso Town Tourism Association), and Magome-juku BASE is open 8:30–17:00 year-round (as of October 2026).1211
Magome also has a separate tourist information center, whose hours are not published on the association's site.37 Check both sides' sites for the date you walk.
Bear alerts split the same way. Nagano had nothing in force (as of 2026-10-09), while Gifu's caution stays in force until hibernation (as of August 2026).1516
Stone paving and footwear
Magome's main street is about 600 m of slope with steep sections. The Magome Tourism Association recommends easy-to-walk shoes such as sneakers and advises against bringing strollers onto the stone paving (as of October 2026).19
Carry cash
Kitaena's Magome bus is paid in cash at the fare box, and the operator does not state IC acceptance (as of October 2026).13 On the Nagiso Town bus, cashless payment works only through the QUICK TRIP app or tickets bought at the Tsumago counter, and neither is valid on the Tsumago Line, so that line is cash only (as of March 2026).14
The luggage service's payment method is not published (as of October 2026).1 For withdrawing yen before you reach the valley, see ATMs That Accept Foreign Cards in Japan.
Tsumago's preservation rules
Tsumago's residents formed a preservation society in 1968 and adopted a residents' charter in July 1971, built on three principles: do not sell, do not rent, and do not demolish.45 The town was designated an Important Preservation District for Groups of Traditional Buildings in 1976.45
Vehicles are barred from the post town from 10:00 to 16:00, and drivers use designated lots at ¥500 per car per day (as of October 2026).36 The Tsumago honjin is open free of charge, while the waki-honjin with the history museum charges adults ¥800 and is open 9:00–17:00 (as of October 2026). These are the museum's own terms, not a town-wide rule.8
Short daylight and the last bus
The trail has no streetlights, so Magome asks walkers to start by 14:00 in winter and 15:00 in summer (as of October 2026).2 Add museum time at the end, with last entry at 16:45 at the Tsumago museum, and the walk can easily run past the 16:10 last Tsumago Line bus to Nagiso Station (as of April 2026).828
See also
- Walking the Kumano Kodo: Pilgrimage Trails of the Kii Peninsula
- Planning a Regional Japan Trip: Rail Passes, Cars, and Realistic Pacing
- Regional and Area Rail Passes: Alternatives to the Nationwide JR Pass
- Is Japan Still a Cash-Only Country?
- What to Pack for Japan: Weather, Footwear, and Cash-Carrying Norms