Researched and fact-checked through the J-Compass editorial process; our editorial team reviews sourcing and accuracy before publishing. See our methodology →
Mount Fuji Five Lakes and Kawaguchiko: Views Without the Climb
A Kawaguchiko day trip from Tokyo takes you to Lake Kawaguchi, the most accessible of the Fuji Five Lakes and the usual base for seeing Mount Fuji from below rather than from the summit trails.12 The mountain is most often visible early in the morning, so how and when you travel decides how much of that window you actually get.23
Fees, rules, and requirements can change. Confirm current details at the Fujikawaguchiko Town Tourism Association site and on each transport operator's own pages (Keio Bus, Fujikyu Bus, Fujikyu Railway, and the Mt. Fuji Panoramic Ropeway).
Overview
The 富士五湖 (Fuji-goko, "Fuji Five Lakes") are Kawaguchiko, Yamanakako, Saiko, Shojiko, and Motosuko.2 The town tourism association describes Kawaguchiko as the best-known base for Fuji sightseeing, with museums, a herb hall, the ropeway, and lakeside cafes.1
JNTO recommends Lake Kawaguchi as the primary base because it is the easiest to reach from Tokyo.2 This article covers getting there, the main viewpoints and the honest odds of a clear view, local transport, overnight stays, and routing on to Hakone.
The five lakes at a glance
Four of the lakes (Kawaguchiko, Saiko, Shojiko, and Motosuko) sit within 富士河口湖町 (Fujikawaguchiko-machi, Fujikawaguchiko Town).1 Kawaguchiko has the densest transport and visitor infrastructure, which is why most visitors start there.12
| Lake | Japanese | Profile |
|---|---|---|
| Kawaguchiko | 河口湖 | The best-known base, with museums, cafes, and the loop-bus hub at Kawaguchiko Station14 |
| Yamanakako | 山中湖 | The largest of the five and the closest to Mount Fuji, at nearly 1,000 m above sea level; swans live on the lake year-round5 |
| Saiko | 西湖 | Bordered by the Aokigahara forest, with volcanic caves including the Saiko Bat Cave and Fugaku Wind Cave; canoeing and camping1 |
| Shojiko | 精進湖 | The smallest lake, known for the 子抱き富士 (kodaki Fuji, "child-embracing Fuji") view, in which Fuji appears to cradle Mount Omuro1 |
| Motosuko | 本栖湖 | The deepest lake, with notably clear water; Nakanokura Pass, northwest of the lake, is the viewpoint behind the Fuji image on the older 1,000-yen note16 |
The outer lakes are harder to reach without a car. The Blue Line loop bus to Shojiko and Motosuko runs a limited service and takes roughly 40–60 minutes from Kawaguchiko Station (as of 2026-10; confirm current figures with the Fujikawaguchiko Town Tourism Association).7
Getting There from Tokyo
There are two practical ways in from central Tokyo: the highway bus from Shinjuku (and a few other terminals), or rail via Otsuki, including the direct Fuji Excursion limited express. The bus is cheaper; the train costs more but runs later in the evening.891011
| Option | Adult one-way | Scheduled time | Last return to Tokyo side | Rail pass coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Highway bus, Busta Shinjuku to Kawaguchiko Station | ¥2,200 (¥2,000 with web payment) | About 1 hour 45 minutes | 20:15 from Kawaguchiko Station | Not applicable |
| Fuji Excursion, Shinjuku to Kawaguchiko | ¥4,200 | Fastest run 1 hour 53 minutes | Last Fujikyu train toward Otsuki 22:10 on weekdays (21:16 is the last confirmed weekend departure); onward JR connections not verified | JR Pass: JR section only. JR TOKYO Wide Pass: covers the Fujikyu line |
All figures in this comparison are dated (as of 2026-10; confirm current figures with Keio Bus, Fujikyu Bus, and Fujikyu Railway); the sections below give the sources and the detail.8910111213
Highway bus
The Shinjuku to Fuji Five Lakes highway bus (新宿~富士五湖線) is jointly operated by Fujikyu Bus, Fuji Express, and Keio Bus.14 Shinjuku departures leave from the 4th-floor terminal of Busta Shinjuku, the highway bus terminal directly connected to Shinjuku Station's south exit.9
The scheduled time to Kawaguchiko Station is about 1 hour 45 minutes, and about 1 hour 40 minutes to Fuji-Q Highland, varying with road conditions (as of 2026-10).914 Under Keio's timetable from 2026-10-01, there are about 55 departures a day each way, with the first bus leaving Busta Shinjuku at 06:45 and the last at 22:25 (as of 2026-10-01).8
Morning departures from Shinjuku run every 10 minutes from 06:45 to 10:55, and all listed Shinjuku departures stop at Fuji-Q Highland and Kawaguchiko Station (as of 2026-10-01).8 Extra relief buses are added behind scheduled departures when demand requires.8
The operator and booking pages use these terms:
| Term | Romaji | Meaning |
|---|---|---|
| バスタ新宿 | Basuta Shinjuku | Busta Shinjuku, the highway bus terminal at Shinjuku Station's south exit9 |
| 京王便 | Keiō-bin | A bus operated by Keio Bus8 |
| 富士急便 | Fujikyū-bin | A bus operated by a Fujikyu group company8 |
| 続行便 | zokkō-bin | A relief bus added behind a scheduled departure when demand requires8 |
Fares
| Route | Adult one-way | As of | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Busta Shinjuku to Kawaguchiko Station | ¥2,200 (¥2,000 with web payment) | 2026-109 | Keio states no fare change with the 2026-10-01 timetable revision8 |
| Shibuya to Kawaguchiko area | from ¥2,300 | 2026-1015 | Separate route |
| Tokyo Station / Ueno to Kawaguchiko area | from ¥2,300 | 2026-1015 | Separate route |
| Child fare, Shinjuku line | Half the adult fare, from ¥1,100 | 2026-109 |
The table's "As of" column dates each fare; the operators adjust fares periodically, so check the booking page before you budget (as of 2026-10).915
Booking: two sites since 2026-10-01
Seats are assigned. Reservations open on the same date one month before travel and close 10 minutes before departure from the first stop (as of 2026-10).9
From buses operating 2026-10-01, the booking site depends on which company runs your bus (as of 2026-08-24 notice).8 A Keio-operated bus books on Highway Bus dot com, as before. A Fujikyu-group bus still appears on Highway Bus dot com but links out to Fujikyu's own booking service, FUJIYAMA CONNECT.8
Fujikyu's booking-links page lists FUJIYAMA CONNECT for the Fuji Five Lakes routes to Busta Shinjuku and to Tokyo/Ueno, and Highway Bus dot com for the Kawaguchiko/Fujisan to Shibuya Mark City route (as of 2026-10).16 The decision is mechanical once you know the operator of the departure you picked.
A ticket paid on FUJIYAMA CONNECT cannot be cancelled on Highway Bus dot com, and the reverse is also true. To move between a Keio bus and a Fujikyu bus, you cancel on the site where you paid, pay that operator's cancellation fee, and rebook on the other site; changes between Keio buses can still be made on the booking site.8
Payment deadlines and refunds
The most recent payment and refund schedule found is a Fujikyu Bus notice dated 2024-05-31, which took effect 2024-07-01.17 It predates the 2026-10-01 booking split, and whether both booking sites now apply the same rules was not confirmed, so check the cancellation terms on the site where you book.
| Timing | Rule or fee | As of |
|---|---|---|
| Web booking payment | Pay by the earlier of 3 days after booking or 3 days before travel; payment is required at booking from 2 days before travel | 2024-05-3117 |
| Phone booking | Auto-cancelled if unpaid by the same deadline; no phone bookings from 2 days before travel | 2024-05-3117 |
| Refund up to 23:59 two days before departure | ¥100 fee | 2024-05-3117 |
| Refund from the day before until 11 minutes before departure | 50% of the fare | 2024-05-3117 |
| Within 10 minutes of departure | No refund | 2024-05-3117 |
Rail via Otsuki and the Fuji Excursion
The rail route is the JR Chuo Line from Tokyo to 大月 (Ōtsuki), then the 富士急行線 (Fujikyūkō-sen, Fujikyu Railway Line) from Otsuki to Kawaguchiko.1819 JNTO cites about 2 hours 5 minutes by train via the Chuo Line and Fujikyu Line (as of 2026-10).2
The 富士回遊 (Fuji Kaiyū, Fuji Excursion) is a JR and Fujikyu through limited express from Shinjuku to Kawaguchiko, so there is no change at Otsuki.10 Fujikyu states the fastest Shinjuku to Kawaguchiko run as 1 hour 53 minutes; the sample 07:30 departure it shows arrives at 09:28 (as of the timetable effective 2026-03-14).10
It runs 4 round trips daily, plus 1 extra round trip in some periods (as of 2026-10).10 For autumn 2026, the seasonal trains 93/94 run on weekdays from 1 October to 30 November, and 81/78 on weekends and holidays from 22 August to 29 November (as of 2026-10).10
Every seat is reserved and there are no unreserved cars. You buy either an assigned seat or a 座席未指定券 (zaseki mishitei-ken, "seat-unassigned ticket"), which is valid for the date and route but does not hold a specific seat (as of 2026-10).10
Fares
| Item | Adult one-way | As of | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fuji Excursion, Shinjuku to Kawaguchiko | ¥4,200 | 2026-1010 | Fare ¥2,580 plus limited express charge ¥1,620; timetable effective 2026-03-14 |
| Fuji Excursion, Shinjuku to Shimoyoshida | ¥4,010 | 2026-1010 | Fare ¥2,390 plus limited express charge ¥1,620; nearest station to the Chureito Pagoda |
| Fuji Excursion limited express charge, Fujikyu section from Otsuki | ¥600 assigned seat / ¥400 seat-unassigned | 2026-1010 | Relevant if your JR section is already covered |
| Fujikyu local train, Otsuki to Kawaguchiko | ¥1,170 ticket / ¥1,161 IC card | 2026-1018 | Plus the JR fare to Otsuki |
| Fujikyu local train, Otsuki to Shimoyoshida | ¥980 ticket | 2026-1018 | Plus the JR fare to Otsuki |
Fujikyu lists the ¥4,200 Fuji Excursion fare under the timetable effective 2026-03-14 (as of 2026-10).10
Rail passes
The Japan Rail Pass (the JR Group's nationwide pass for visitors) covers only the JR section of the trip, Shinjuku to Otsuki. The Otsuki to Kawaguchiko section is Fujikyu Railway and is listed as outside JR coverage, so pass holders pay the Fujikyu portion separately (as of 2026-10).12
The JR TOKYO Wide Pass (a JR East regional pass) costs ¥16,000 for adults and ¥8,000 for children, valid for three consecutive days, and covers Fujikyu Railway lines (as of 2026-10).13 JR East lists extra fees for reserved seats on Fujisan Express and Fujisan View Express trains and on Fuji Tozan Densha trains; the pass page fetched does not state what a Fuji Excursion seat costs a Wide Pass holder, so confirm that with JR East before you rely on it.13
Day trip vs. overnight: the decision framework
JNTO's own Fuji Five Lakes itinerary is a three-day plan based at Lake Kawaguchi, and it notes that the best views of Mount Fuji come in the morning, as haze and cloud tend to build through the day.2 That single fact does most of the work in deciding between a day trip and a night.
Long-run observations from Fuji City, on the Shizuoka (south) side of the mountain, show Fuji fully visible on 36.6% of days at 08:00, falling to 23.3% at 12:00 and 22.5% at 16:00 (as of the 2025 report, data 1991–2025).3 That record is a proxy, not Kawaguchiko data, but it shows the pattern: a day trip that arrives late morning has already lost the statistically best window.
The town tourism association names 10:00 to about 16:00 as the most crowded hours around the lake (as of 2026-10).7 The first highway bus leaves Busta Shinjuku at 06:45 and reaches Kawaguchiko about 1 hour 45 minutes later; the last bus back leaves Kawaguchiko Station at 20:15 (as of the 2026-10-01 timetable).89
An overnight stay gives you two early mornings at the lake, before the day-trip crowds arrive and before the afternoon drop in visibility. A day trip still works if you take the earliest departure and accept that the mountain may be hidden.
Viewpoints and Visibility
Top viewpoints around Kawaguchiko
Oishi Park
Oishi Park is a public park on the north shore of Lake Kawaguchi, free to enter and always open.20 It is about 30 minutes from Kawaguchiko Station on the Red Line loop bus, at the 河口湖自然生活館 (Kawaguchiko Natural Living Center) stop (as of 2026-10; confirm current figures with Fujikyu Bus).20
Lavender frames the mountain in early summer and red kochia in autumn.20 The Japan Tourism Agency's photographer's guide describes the view as Fuji across the water with flowerbeds in the foreground and Unoshima, the only island in the Fuji Five Lakes, in frame.21
Mt. Fuji Panoramic Ropeway (Mount Tenjo)
The ropeway climbs Mount Tenjo for panoramic views.2 The base is about 3 minutes' walk from the 「遊覧船・ロープウェイ入口」 (Pleasure Boat / Ropeway Entrance) loop-bus stop, and the ride takes about 3 minutes (as of 2026-10).224
Fares rise on 2026-11-01, so the round-trip price depends on your travel date.2322
| Ropeway ticket | Price | As of | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Adult round trip | ¥1,200 from 2026-11-01 (¥1,000 before) | 2026-102322 | |
| Child (elementary school) round trip | ¥600 from 2026-11-01 (¥500 before) | 2026-102322 | |
| Adult one way | ¥600 through 2026-10-31 | 2026-1022 | Revised one-way fares from 2026-11-01 were not published on the pages checked |
| Child one way | ¥300 through 2026-10-31 | 2026-1022 | Same caveat as above |
| Pet (small or medium dog) | ¥600 from 2026-11-01 | 2026-1023 | Large dogs not allowed |
| Group fares (15 or more) | Revision scheduled 2027-04-01 | 2026-1022 | Amounts not stated |
Operating hours vary by season, and the operator pages checked did not state standard hours, so confirm them before you go.22 On the maintenance days of 2026-10-21 to 10-22 and 2026-11-25 to 11-26, the ropeway runs 08:30 to a 15:00 last ascent and 15:20 last descent, and the annual inspection closes it entirely from 2026-12-07 to 12-18 (as of 2026-10).23
Kawaguchiko north-shore frames
The Red Line loop circles the Kawaguchiko north-shore area, serving Oishi Park, the Kawaguchiko Muse Museum, and other sights.4 It is the simplest way to string several lake-and-mountain views together without a car.
Chureito Pagoda (Arakurayama Sengen Park)
新倉山浅間公園 (Arakurayama Sengen Kōen, Arakurayama Sengen Park) is in Fujiyoshida City, a separate municipality from Fujikawaguchiko Town. It contains Arakura Fuji Sengen Shrine and the 忠霊塔 (Chūreitō), a five-storied memorial pagoda; the well-known composition puts the pagoda, cherry blossoms or autumn leaves, and Mount Fuji in a single frame.211924
The nearest station is 下吉田 (Shimoyoshida) on the Fujikyu Line, officially named 「下吉田<新倉山浅間公園>」.25 The walk is about 10–25 minutes depending on the source and route: Fujiyoshida's official guide gives about 25 minutes to the pagoda, while JNTO gives 10 minutes on foot to the shrine plus a five-minute climb (as of 2026-10).1924
The observation deck is reached by 398 steps.24 JNTO places the peak seasons in mid-April for cherry blossoms and November for autumn color.19
The park is open 24 hours. Seasonal night illumination ends at 21:50 and starts between 16:00 and 19:00 depending on the month (as of 2026-10).24 Paid parking lots charge about ¥750–¥1,500 per 6 hours depending on the lot (as of 2026-10).24
Fujiyoshida's guide says visitor numbers are extremely high and asks visitors not to drive near the pagoda area for safety. Tour buses must drop passengers at Shimoyoshida Station rather than the park entrance (as of 2026-10).24
The 2026 festival cancellation and crowd measures
On 2026-02-03, Fujiyoshida City announced it would not hold the 2026 Arakurayama Sengen Park Cherry Blossom Festival, which had run for about 10 years, citing the impact of overtourism on residents (as of 2026-02-03).26 The city cited about 200,000 visitors a year, more than 10,000 a day at peak, and observation-deck waits of 1–3 hours in cherry-blossom season (as of 2026-02-03).26
The problems the city listed were trespassing on private property, sanitation, and safety risks on children's school routes.26 Cancelling the festival did not close the park: security staff, traffic control, temporary parking, and portable toilets continued, with reinforced measures from 2026-04-01 to 04-17 and traffic restrictions through 2026-04-19 (as of 2026-02-03).26
The city's 2026 bloom page reported the Arakurayama blossoms had turned to leaves by 2026-04-16 and links to a live camera of the park (as of 2026-04-16).27
On 2026-09-04, Uber Japan and Fujiyoshida City signed an overtourism agreement (as of 2026-09-14 report).28 In congested areas the app redirects ride requests to designated pickup points, and international users receive etiquette messages, such as not photographing from the roadway, in about 50 languages.28
The target zones are the Arakurayama area, Shimoyoshida, the 本町通り (Honchō-dōri) main-street area, and nearby congested spots. It runs from September to mid-December 2026 and from March to May 2027 (as of 2026-09-14 report).28
These are Fujiyoshida City's own measures for its own congested areas, not a rule across the Five Lakes.2628
The Lawson photo spot and its evolving countermeasures
The "Mount Fuji Lawson" view is from outside Lawson Kawaguchiko Ekimae (ローソン河口湖駅前店, the Kawaguchiko Station-front branch) in Fujikawaguchiko Town, where Fuji appears to sit on top of the store roof.2930 The problem was crowds blocking the narrow sidewalk and walking into the road or onto neighboring property for the shot.29
A dental clinic opposite the store was particularly affected by people blocking its entrance.31 The town's response has changed several times, so the dates matter.
| Date | Event | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 2024-04-30 | Fujikawaguchiko Town begins installing poles for a screen opposite the store, about 2.5 m high and 20 m wide | 31 |
| 2024-05-21 | Black mesh screen installed at a cost of ¥1.3 million; about 10 eye-level holes appear within days; officials say it still eased congestion | 29 |
| 2024-08-15 | Screen taken down temporarily ahead of Typhoon Ampil; the town says it will be reinstated if disruptive behavior resurfaces | 32 |
| 2024-12-02 | A news report says a new 6 m fence is planned; no other source found confirms it was installed | 30 |
| 2025-08-07 | The town installs a brown tarp barrier about 1.4 m high, designed to keep people out of the road while still allowing photos | 3334 |
As of the last official update found (the town's position as reported on 2025-08-15), the town said nuisance behavior had fallen but it would continue countermeasures, without saying how long the barrier would stay (as of 2025-08-15).3334 No town page describing the measures was found, so the barrier's status after that date is not confirmed by an official source.
What visitors are asked to do has stayed constant: stay out of the road, stay off neighboring property, and do not block the clinic entrance.293133 These are Fujikawaguchiko Town's measures at one site, not a national or prefectural rule.33
The other four lakes
Yamanakako is the largest of the five and the closest to Mount Fuji, with swans on the lake year-round, according to the Japan Tourism Agency.5 Nagaike Water Park on its shore is a classic lake-and-mountain composition and a "Diamond Fuji" sunset spot, and Panorama-dai frames the mountain with miscanthus grass.21 It is reached from Kawaguchiko on the Fujikyu route bus toward Gotemba, via Fujisan Station and Oshino (as of the timetable revised 2025-04-07).35
Saiko is bordered by the Aokigahara forest and has volcanic caves including the Saiko Bat Cave and Fugaku Wind Cave.1 It is served by the Green Line loop bus (as of 2026-10).4
Shojiko is the smallest lake, known for the "child-embracing Fuji" view.1 It is on the Blue Line loop bus (as of 2026-10).4
Motosuko is the deepest of the five.1 Its viewpoint at Nakanokura Pass, northwest of the lake, is the scene from a 1935 photograph by Okada Koyo used on the 1,000-yen note design in circulation before 2024 and on the 1984-design 5,000-yen note; reaching it is a 1 km hike from the road, about 30 minutes.6
The new 1,000-yen note issued 2024-07-03 shows Hokusai's "Great Wave off Kanagawa" on the reverse instead.36 If you want to hold the note up against the view, you need one of the older notes.
Public transport between the outer lakes is thin. The Blue Line to Shojiko and Motosuko is a limited service taking about 40–60 minutes from Kawaguchiko Station (as of 2026-10).7
Visibility reality by season
A clear view of the mountain is never guaranteed, and the odds vary sharply by month. The only long-run official visibility record found comes from Fuji City in Shizuoka Prefecture, which has logged views of Fuji from the south side of the mountain at fixed times since 1990/1991.3
The figures below are Fuji City's observations from the south (Shizuoka) side of Mount Fuji, not from Kawaguchiko. Treat them as a proxy for seasonal and time-of-day patterns, not as Kawaguchiko-specific odds.3
The table shows how often Fuji was fully visible, and not visible at all, at the 08:00 observation, cumulative over 1991–2025 (as of the 2025 report).3
| Month | Fully visible at 08:00 | Not visible at all at 08:00 |
|---|---|---|
| January | 60.0% | 17.7% |
| February | 52.6% | 25.1% |
| March | 40.7% | 38.7% |
| April | 36.3% | 41.7% |
| May | 30.2% | 48.8% |
| June | 12.4% | 66.2% |
| July | 9.9% | 75.4% |
| August | 14.6% | 64.4% |
| September | 27.2% | 46.0% |
| October | 41.1% | 31.2% |
| November | 53.9% | 21.3% |
| December | 61.7% | 15.1% |
Fuji City's own summary: November to February have the most visible days and June to August the fewest, with March to May (spring haze) and September (typhoon season) also low (as of the 2025 report).3 In 2025 alone, Fuji was fully visible at 08:00 on 136 days (37.3%) and not visible at all on 134 days (36.7%) (as of the 2025 report).3
Time of day matters as much as season. The full-view rate across all days drops from 36.6% at 08:00 to 23.3% at noon and 22.5% at 16:00 (as of the 2025 report).3
From May to September, the gap between sunny days and full-view days is large, especially June to August, because cloud and haze gather around the mountain itself. Even in the best month in this record, Fuji was fully visible at 08:00 on only about 6 days in 10.3
A live camera helps on the day. Fujiyoshida City's bloom page links to a live camera of Arakurayama Sengen Park.27
Getting Around the Lakes
Sightseeing bus loops
Three Fujikyu 周遊バス (shūyū basu, "sightseeing loop bus") lines start from Kawaguchiko Station.4 The retro-styled tour bus service was started by Kawaguchiko Town and Fujikyu in spring 2005.37
| Line | Covers | Frequency |
|---|---|---|
| Red Line (レッドライン) | Kawaguchiko north shore: Oishi Park, museums, the ropeway entrance4 | Every 15 minutes |
| Green Line (グリーンライン) | Saiko, Aokigahara, the Narusawa Ice Cave area, Saiko Iyashi no Sato Nenba4 | Every 30 minutes |
| Blue Line (ブルーライン) | Shojiko, Motosuko, and the Fuji Shibazakura Festival grounds4 | Limited service |
Frequencies are from the town tourism association's transport guide (as of 2026-10; confirm current figures with Fujikyu Bus).7 Last departures for each line were not found in the sources checked, so read the timetable at Kawaguchiko Station before heading to an outer lake.
Fares and passes
| Ticket | Adult | Child | As of | What it covers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Single ride | from ¥180 | not stated | 2026-104 | Minimum fare |
| Loop bus 1Day Pass | ¥1,500 | ¥750 | 2026-1047 | Red, Green, and Blue Lines; sold at the Kawaguchiko Station bus counter, on board, or online |
| Loop bus 2Day Pass | ¥2,000 | ¥1,000 | 2026-104 | Red, Green, and Blue Lines; sold at the station counter or online |
| Fuji Mt. & Fuji Five Lakes bus passport, 2 days | ¥3,300 | ¥1,660 | 2026-1038 | Loop buses, the ふじっ湖号 (Fujikko-gō, the loop bus) for Fujiyoshida, Oshino, and Yamanakako, Five Lakes route buses, and Fujikyu rail between Kawaguchiko and Shimoyoshida only; no highway or climbing buses |
| Same passport with rail set, 2 days | ¥4,700 | ¥2,360 | 2026-1038 | Adds the entire Fujikyu Railway line |
The pass prices above are dated (as of 2026-10); check them at the station counter before buying.438 The 2-day passport is the one that covers both the lake loops and the train to Shimoyoshida for the Chureito Pagoda.38
Cycling and walking
Lake Kawaguchi is just under 20 km around.7 The town tourism association lists seven rental shops near Kawaguchiko Station, some with web reservations and delivery to your accommodation (as of 2026-10).7
A standard rental bike costs around ¥600 per hour; shops also offer cross bikes, e-bikes, and children's bikes, with multi-day rentals and luggage storage at some (as of 2026-10).7
Beyond Lake Kawaguchi, distances grow. The outer lakes need the limited Blue Line or a car (as of 2026-10), and the Motosuko banknote viewpoint adds a 1 km, roughly 30-minute hike from the road.76
Onsen and Overnight Stays
Kawaguchiko sits in 富士河口湖温泉郷 (Fujikawaguchiko Onsen-kyō, the Fujikawaguchiko hot-spring resort area); Fujikyu even includes the name in Kawaguchiko Station's official title.11 Prices and bath arrangements are set by each property, so the details below are examples, not area norms. For what different price levels typically include, see Ryokan Cost Tiers: What You Actually Get at Each Price Point.
Fuji-view rooms and the pricing reality
At least one lakeside hotel sells rooms facing Fuji as a separate category. Fuji Lake Hotel in Funatsu, Fujikawaguchiko, lists 12 room types, including a "富士山側スタンダード" (Mt. Fuji-side standard) category alongside "レークビューコンフォート" (lake-view comfort) rooms and rooms with open-air baths (as of 2026-10; confirm current figures with the property).39
That is one property's room naming, not a rule for the area. When a view of the mountain matters, check the room category's exact wording before you book rather than assuming "lake view" includes Fuji.39
The new accommodation tax from 2027-04-01
Two municipalities will add a 宿泊税 (shukuhaku-zei, "accommodation tax") to overnight stays from 2027-04-01. The Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications gave its consent to both on 2026-06-30, and both exempt school-trip participants, including chaperones (as of 2026-06-30).4041
| Municipality | Rate | Official exemption | Effective | As of |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fujikawaguchiko Town | ¥200 per person per night | School trips, including chaperones | 2027-04-01 (planned) | 2026-06-3040 |
| Fujiyoshida City | ¥200 per person per night | School trips, including chaperones | 2027-04-01 (planned) | 2026-06-3041 |
The tax applies to hotels, 旅館 (ryokan, "traditional inn"), simple lodgings, and registered minpaku (private rentals) in each municipality, and the lodging collects it.404142 The town's January 2026 draft set no tax-free threshold, so the ¥200 applies regardless of room price (as of 2026-01-22 draft).43
Some lodgings are publishing their own details. One Fujikawaguchiko Onsen ryokan, Konansou, says infants sharing a bed with no separate charge are not taxed while children with a charged rate are (as of 2026-09-30); that is one property's statement, and the official summary lists only the school-trip exemption.4044
No accommodation tax source was found for Yamanakako or Oshino villages, so do not assume the same rate applies there.
Open-air baths with mountain views
Fuji Lake Hotel, for example, lists an open-air cypress bath, large indoor baths, and private baths (as of 2026-10).39 Whether a given 露天風呂 (rotenburo, "open-air bath") faces Fuji or only the lake depends entirely on the property, and no general source covers it.39
If a Fuji view from the bath is the point of the stay, ask the property directly which baths face the mountain and whether private baths can be booked for early morning. For bathing rules, see Onsen Etiquette for First-Timers.
Combining with Hakone
The Tokyo-Fuji Lakes-Hakone loop
Kawaguchiko and Hakone can be linked by road through Gotemba, which lets you go Tokyo to the lakes to Hakone without returning to Tokyo in between. The Fujikyu route bus from Kawaguchiko Station to JR Gotemba Station runs via Fujisan Station, Oshino, and Yamanakako, with sample runs taking 75–90 minutes (as of the timetable revised 2025-04-07; confirm current figures with Fujikyu Bus).35
Sample departures include 07:00 arriving 08:15, 10:00 arriving 11:30, and 13:00 arriving 14:30 (as of the timetable revised 2025-04-07).35 Some buses continue to Gotemba Premium Outlets, for example 10:30 arriving 12:30 (as of the timetable revised 2025-04-07).35
From the Gotemba side, Hakone Tozan Bus and Odakyu Highway Bus link Gotemba Premium Outlets with Hakone-Yumoto (about 60 minutes), Gora (about 45 minutes), Sengoku, and Togendai (as of 2026-10).45 Odakyu Highway Bus from Togendai runs via Sengoku, Otome Pass, and Gotemba Station (as of 2026-10).46
The total Kawaguchiko to Hakone time depends on the connection at Gotemba and was not confirmed end to end; the Kawaguchiko to Gotemba fare was also not confirmed. Plan the transfer from both timetables on the day. For the Hakone half of the loop, see Day Trip: Hakone's Onsen and Mount Fuji Views; to travel the loop without large bags, see Luggage Forwarding in Japan: How Takkyubin Courier Services Work.
Good to know
Fuji climbing restrictions do not apply here
The Five Lakes viewpoints, the ropeway, the parks, and the lakeshore are not the climbing trails. The climbing fee, capacity caps, gate hours, and mandatory e-learning apply to people climbing Mount Fuji, and they are covered in Mount Fuji's Climbing Fee: What It Costs and What It's For and Mount Fuji Climbing Restrictions: Time Bands, Capacity Caps, and Mandatory E-Learning.
The new charge that does reach lake visitors is municipal. From 2027-04-01, Fujikawaguchiko Town and Fujiyoshida City each levy ¥200 per person per night on overnight stays (as of 2026-06-30; confirm current figures with Fujikawaguchiko Town or Fujiyoshida City).4041
Book autumn foliage trips when the one-month bus window opens
The 2026 Fujikawaguchiko Autumn Leaves Festival runs from 2026-11-07 to 11-29, with light-up from sunset to 21:00 along a lakeside lined with about 400–500 maple trees (as of 2026-10).47 The town tourism association itself advises avoiding Golden Week and the late October to mid-November foliage peak if you can (as of 2026-10).7
If you are going then, book highway bus seats as soon as reservations open, on the same date one month before travel (as of 2026-10).9 Relief buses are added according to demand, but that is not a guarantee of a seat on the departure you want.8 No published sell-out rate was found, so treat the opening date as your booking date rather than waiting to see.
Since 2026-10-01, Keio buses are booked on Highway Bus dot com and Fujikyu buses on FUJIYAMA CONNECT (as of 2026-08-24 notice). Moving a booking between the two means cancelling with a fee on one site and rebooking on the other.8
The ropeway's adult round trip is ¥1,200 from 2026-11-01 (¥1,000 before), and the child round trip ¥600 (¥500 before), so foliage-season rides fall under the new fares (as of 2026-10).2322 It then closes for inspection from 2026-12-07 to 12-18.23
Packing for lake-area weather
Kawaguchiko is about 5 °C colder than Tokyo on average. Japan Meteorological Agency normals for 1991–2020 put Kawaguchiko's annual mean temperature at 11.0 °C, against 15.8 °C in Tokyo.4849 Kawaguchiko's monthly means run from -0.4 °C to 22.5 °C, compared with 5.4 °C in January to 26.9 °C in August in Tokyo, so pack a warmer layer than Tokyo's weather suggests, especially for an early-morning viewing.4849
The 1Day loop-bus pass can be bought on board (as of 2026-10), but the payment methods accepted on board were not confirmed; buying at the Kawaguchiko Station bus counter avoids the question.4
Return bus times drop sharply after dark
The last highway bus to Shinjuku leaves Kawaguchiko Station at 20:15. On the 2026-10-01 timetable, Kawaguchiko departures to Shinjuku run at roughly 10-minute intervals from about 14:00 to 19:10, then only at 19:55 and 20:15 (as of the 2026-10-01 timetable).8 Check your return bus when you arrive, not when you are ready to leave.
The Fujikyu Railway runs later. Trains toward Otsuki leave Kawaguchiko at 18:25, 19:05, 19:39, 20:09, 20:38, and 21:16, with a final 22:10 on weekdays; a 22:10 weekend departure was not confirmed (as of the timetable effective 2026-03-14). Onward JR connections from Otsuki to Tokyo were not verified.11
A missed or changed bus is costly. Under the latest refund notice found, cancelling from the day before departure costs 50% of the fare, and there is no refund within 10 minutes of departure (as of 2024-05-31).17 That notice predates the 2026-10-01 booking split, so confirm the current terms on the site where you paid.817
See also
- Japan's Accommodation Tax, City by City
- Budgeting for Japan's New Tourist Fees and Taxes: A Realistic Add-On Estimate
- Crowd-Avoidance Tactics That Actually Work: Timing, Not Just Destination
- Regional Bloom Timing: Sakura Peaks Across Japan
- Photography and Privacy Norms in Everyday Public Space