Researched and fact-checked through the J-Compass editorial process; our editorial team reviews sourcing and accuracy before publishing. See our methodology →
Tea Ceremony Experiences and Traditional Arts: Finding an Authentic Session
A tea ceremony experience is a short, hosted session in which a visitor receives a sweet and a bowl of matcha, usually prepared in front of them, an abbreviated taste of 茶道 (sadō or chadō, "the Way of Tea") and the gathering called 茶の湯 (chanoyu, "hot water for tea").123 Sessions are easy to find in Kyoto and Tokyo, but length, seating, group size, and price are set by each venue, so the useful skills are picking a real session, knowing how to act as a guest, and budgeting from dated prices rather than guesses.
Fees, rules, and requirements can change. Confirm current details at each venue's own booking page and, for public tea events, at the Tokyo Metropolitan Government or Kitano Tenmangu site.
Overview
JNTO (the Japan National Tourism Organization) notes that temples, gardens, cultural facilities, and hotels have tea houses where visitors can experience a tea ceremony, particularly in Kyoto.3 This article covers how those sessions relate to a full gathering, how to behave as a guest, what they cost, and which other traditional arts you can book on a short trip.
What a full tea gathering involves
JNTO distinguishes a 茶会 (chakai), an informal gathering to appreciate the ritualized serving of tea, from a 茶事 (chaji), the more formal occasion.3 A full, formal ceremony can last several hours, and many venues offer abbreviated versions to visitors.3
The Omotesenke school (表千家, one of the two largest tea schools descended from the Sen family) publishes the shape of a chaji. In the first half, guests view the hanging scroll in the alcove, then the hearth, kettle, and shelf; the host lays the first charcoal with incense, serves a kaiseki meal, and presents the main sweet before a mid-gathering break.4 In the second half, one bowl of thick tea is passed among all the guests, the fire is rebuilt, and a round of thin tea ends the chaji.5
Chaji also vary by season and time of day, from dawn and morning gatherings to evening ones.6
The Urasenke school (裏千家, the other large Sen-family school) traces its tradition to Sen Rikyu (1522–91) and states that "the principles underlying this Art of Living are Harmony, Respect, Purity, and Tranquility."1 It describes each gathering as a "once in a lifetime" occasion, time that can never be repeated.1 Japanese has a set phrase for this idea: 一期一会 (ichigo ichie, "one time, one meeting").
| Term | Reading | Meaning |
|---|---|---|
| 茶事 | chaji | Full, formal tea gathering with a meal, charcoal, thick tea, and thin tea35 |
| 茶会 | chakai | Less formal tea gathering3 |
| 懐石 | kaiseki | The meal served during a chaji4 |
| 濃茶 / 薄茶 | koicha / usucha | Thick tea / thin tea5 |
| 和敬清寂 | wa kei sei jaku | Harmony, respect, purity, tranquility1 |
What a visitor session keeps and what it drops
A Japan Tourism Agency description of the tea service at Urakuen, a garden in Inuyama (Aichi), calls it "an abbreviated version of a tea gathering": a sweet first, then a bowl of usucha, then a staff explanation of the scroll and flowers in the alcove.7 That is one venue's format, but it matches the general pattern of visitor sessions.
Published session lengths cluster between 30 and 45 minutes. Urasenke's own gallery tea service at its Chado Research Center in Kyoto takes about 30 minutes, with matcha and a seasonal sweet (as of 2026-10-10; confirm current figures with the Urasenke Chado Research Center).8 Camellia's Flower Teahouse in Kyoto runs a 45-minute shared session (as of 2026-10-10), and a byFood-listed Kyoto session runs 30 minutes with English explanation (as of 2026-10-10).910
Some sessions add hands-on practice. UZUMASA KYOTO VILLAGE's tea experience runs about 35 minutes: you watch the instructor prepare tea while eating a sweet, then whisk and drink your own matcha (as of 2026-10-10).11
Compared with the chaji sequence, these short sessions typically skip the kaiseki meal, the charcoal procedures, and the shared bowl of thick tea.457 What remains is the sweet, a bowl of thin tea, and some explanation of the room and utensils.
Who it suits and who may skip it
JNTO describes guests sitting in 正座 (seiza, formal kneeling).3 Some venues relax this: Urakuen accepts cross-legged or side-legged sitting, and several Kyoto venues state that chairs or stools are available on request (as of 2026-10-10).7121013
A session rewards visitors who are curious about how the tea is made and why the room looks the way it does. It is lower value if the main goal is a photo, or if kneeling is a hard limit and the venue you are considering has no chair option.
Guest Etiquette
A visitor session assumes you are a beginner, and the host will guide each step. JNTO notes there are "dozens of different schools of the tea ceremony, each with subtle differences," so what follows is the outline the two largest schools publish, not the only correct sequence.3
Sweets before tea
Omotesenke's guidance is to eat the sweets before the tea, starting when the host begins rinsing the whisk.14 The sweet arrives first, and the bowl follows.
Urasenke names two families of sweet. Main sweets (主菓子, omogashi) include yam-dough buns, kinton, rice-cake sweets, and seasonal fresh sweets; dry sweets (干菓子, higashi) include rakugan, senbei, and hard sugar candies.15 Guests take dry sweets by hand onto their own kaishi paper.15
At Urakuen, guests hold the plate in the left hand and use the pick in the right to cut the sweet into bite-sized pieces.7 Other venues may serve the sweet differently; watch the host or the guest before you.
| Term | Reading | Meaning |
|---|---|---|
| 和菓子 | wagashi | Japanese confection |
| 主菓子 / 干菓子 | omogashi / higashi | Moist main sweet / dry sweet15 |
| 懐紙 | kaishi | Folded paper the guest carries for receiving sweets16 |
| 黒文字 | kuromoji | Wooden sweets pick, named for the tree its branch is carved from15 |
Receiving, turning, and drinking from the bowl
Urasenke and Omotesenke publish closely matching sequences for a guest receiving a bowl of thin tea.1714
- Set the bowl between yourself and the next guest and bow to them. Urasenke has the guest say お先に (osaki ni, "excuse me for going first").1714
- Bow to the host. Urasenke's phrase is お点前ちょうだいします (otemae chōdai shimasu), a thanks for the host's preparation, and both schools have the guest raise the bowl slightly in thanks.1714
- Turn the bowl twice so you do not drink from its front (正面, shōmen).1714
- Drink in a few sips; the host will guide you. Urasenke asks guests to drink "quietly, savoring" the tea, and neither school's page fixes a number of sips.1714
- Wipe the spot you drank from with your fingers, then turn the bowl back so the front faces you again.1714
- Look at the bowl. Urasenke has the guest set it down outside the tatami border and view its whole form with both hands on the mat.17
Both schools describe two turns, but practice varies across schools and venues.17143 At Urakuen, for example, the JTA text describes a single 90-degree clockwise turn at waist height before drinking, then a counterclockwise turn afterward so the front faces away from the guest.7 JNTO describes the rotation only as turning the bowl "slightly," and notes that guests compliment the host on the tea and the bowl.3
| Term | Reading | Meaning |
|---|---|---|
| 茶碗 | chawan | Tea bowl16 |
| 正面 | shōmen | The bowl's front, which the guest avoids drinking from1714 |
| 亭主 / 正客 / 次客 | teishu / shōkyaku / jikyaku | Host / principal guest / next guest17 |
| 拝見 | haiken | Respectful viewing of an object17 |
Kneeling, chairs, and chair-style (ritsurei) sessions
Seiza is the default guest position.3 A chair-based style also exists: 立礼 (りゅうれい, ryūrei; many English listings romanize it "ritsurei") was devised by Gengensai, the 11th head of Urasenke, and uses chairs.18
Several Kyoto venues offer seating help. Camellia states that "a limited number of chairs and tables are available upon request," a byFood-listed venue says chairs or stools are available, and a Rakuten Travel Experiences listing mentions small chairs (as of 2026-10-10; confirm current figures with each venue).121013 Ask at booking rather than on arrival, since chairs may be limited.
Step-free access varies even within one operator. Camellia states that its Garden Teahouse is fully accessible with a detachable ramp, while its Flower Teahouse tearooms are up a flight of stairs and not accessible (as of 2026-10-10).19 For broader mobility planning, see Barrier-Free Accommodation and Travel with Invisible Disabilities.
Admiring the room and the utensils
On entering, Omotesenke guests first view the scroll hanging in the 床の間 (tokonoma, alcove), then the hearth, kettle, and shelf decorations.4 The flowers in the tearoom are those in bloom that season; Omotesenke describes them as bringing the season into the room, and treats chasing rare varieties as missing the point.20
The utensils carry meaning too. Urasenke notes that the tea scoop often bears a name and is highly valued, and calls the kettle "central to the tea gathering."16 If you are unsure whether to pick something up, wait for the host to offer it.
| Term | Reading | Meaning |
|---|---|---|
| 掛物 / 掛軸 | kakemono / kakejiku | Hanging scroll4 |
| 茶花 | chabana | Tearoom flowers20 |
| 茶筅 | chasen | Bamboo whisk16 |
| 茶杓 | chashaku | Tea scoop16 |
| 棗 | natsume | Caddy for thin tea16 |
| 釜 | kama | Kettle16 |
Choosing an Authentic Session
No official checklist defines an "authentic" tea ceremony. The signals below are practical guidance built from what venues themselves publish.
Signals of a real session
A venue that names its instructor's school is telling you something checkable. UZUMASA KYOTO VILLAGE names an Ikenobo-affiliated instructor for its ikebana session and states that its tea instructor and school vary by day of the week (as of 2026-10-10; confirm current details with the venue).2111 Camellia's, byFood's, and Rakuten's listings name no school (as of 2026-10-10).121013
Group size is the second signal. Camellia caps shared sessions at 8 and private sessions at 5, and the byFood listing caps at 10 (as of 2026-10-10).1210 Small groups leave room for questions.
The third signal is what happens in the room: tea prepared where you can watch, as UZUMASA KYOTO VILLAGE describes, and an explanation of the alcove's scroll and seasonal flowers, as in the Urakuen format.117
Urasenke offers a chair-style gallery tea service at its Chado Research Center in Kyoto, and Omotesenke runs single and multi-session tea experiences and seasonal gatherings, in Japanese, at Kitayama Kaikan in Kyoto and its branches (as of 2026-10-10).822 Booking with the school itself removes the guesswork about who is teaching.
Signals of a photo-op
Be cautious when a listing leads with costumes and photos, takes large groups, serves tea made out of sight with no explanation, or squeezes the tea into a few rushed minutes. None of these alone rules a session out, but together they suggest the tea is a backdrop.
Kimono is often sold as an add-on to a genuine session. Camellia, for example, offers all-day kimono rental for +¥6,000 per person (as of 2026-10-10).9 A kimono-plus-tea bundle can still be a good session; judge the tea part on the signals above, and for the kimono part see Kimono and Yukata Rental: Etiquette and Choosing a Shop.
Some venues draw the line the other way. UZUMASA KYOTO VILLAGE does not admit participants wearing period costumes to its tea experience (as of 2026-10-10).11
Session formats compared
The table below sets one named example against each format; every row is that venue's own policy as of 2026-10-10, except the Tokyo event, which is as of 2026-08-20.
| Format | Example (scope) | Length | Group size | Seating | As of |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shared small group | Camellia Flower Teahouse, Kyoto | 45 min | Up to 8 | Seiza; chairs on request | 2026-10-10912 |
| Private | Camellia Flower Teahouse, Kyoto | 45 min | Up to 5 | Seiza; chairs on request | 2026-10-102312 |
| Platform-listed host | byFood listing, Kyoto | 30 min | Up to 10 | Chairs or stools available | 2026-10-1010 |
| School-run tea service | Urasenke Chado Research Center, Kyoto | About 30 min | Up to 16 per seating | Chairs (ryūrei style) | 2026-10-108 |
| Cultural experience in a theme park | UZUMASA KYOTO VILLAGE, Kyoto | About 35 min | Not stated | Not stated | 2026-10-1011 |
| Temple tea session | Ryosokuin, Kyoto | 45 min | Not stated | Not stated | 2026-10-1024 |
| Garden teahouse, no ceremony | Nakajima no Ochaya, Hamarikyu Gardens, Tokyo | Walk-in | Not applicable | Not stated | 2026-10-1025 |
| Public city event | Tokyo Grand Tea Ceremony 2026, Tokyo | Per seat | Same-day tickets | Not stated | 2026-08-2026 |
The choice usually comes down to seating, how much ceremony you want, and whether you want the room to yourself.
Costs
Price bands by format
Session prices below come from each venue's or listing's own page (as of 2026-10-10; confirm current figures with each venue's booking page). Camellia states that its prices include tax (as of 2026-10-10).12
| Item | Amount | As of | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Camellia shared session, adult (Kyoto) | From ¥4,000 | 2026-10-109 | 45 min; ages 6 and up |
| Camellia shared session, child 6–12 (Kyoto) | From ¥2,500 | 2026-10-109 | |
| Camellia private session, per person (Kyoto) | From ¥8,000 | 2026-10-1023 | |
| Camellia private session, one person alone (Kyoto) | From ¥15,000 | 2026-10-1023 | |
| Camellia kimono add-on (Kyoto) | +¥6,000 per person | 2026-10-109 | All-day rental |
| byFood listing (Kyoto) | US$31.23 per guest | 2026-10-1010 | 30 min; listed as an autumn special price; the platform shows US dollars |
| Urasenke gallery tea service (Kyoto) | ¥1,000 plus museum admission | 2026-10-108 | Reserve by 15:00 the day before |
| UZUMASA KYOTO VILLAGE tea experience (Kyoto) | ¥2,700 | 2026-10-1011 | Held inside the park; confirm whether park admission is also needed |
| UZUMASA KYOTO VILLAGE 1-day pass (Kyoto) | ¥2,800 adult / ¥1,600 child | 2026-10-1027 | Child rate covers age 3 through elementary school |
| Ryosokuin tea ceremony (Kyoto) | ¥11,000 per person | 2026-10-1024 | 45 min |
| Kitano Tenmangu monthly tea, Meigetsusha (Kyoto) | ¥2,500 | 2026-10-1028 | No reservation |
| Kitano Tenmangu monthly tea, Shōkōken (Kyoto) | ¥1,500 | 2026-10-1028 | No reservation |
| Tokyo Grand Tea Ceremony 2026 tea seat (Tokyo) | ¥800 | 2026-08-2026 | Same-day sales only |
Matcha itself has become more expensive at wholesale. Reuters reported, citing the Global Japanese Tea Association, that a May 2025 Kyoto auction of 碾茶 (tencha, the leaf ground into matcha) fetched ¥8,235 per kg, a 170 percent increase from a year earlier (as of 2025-07-04).29
That report is about tea leaf, not tea ceremonies. It does not connect tencha prices to the price of a tea session.29
Casual matcha at garden teahouses
The lowest-commitment way to drink matcha in a traditional setting is a garden teahouse, with no ceremony and no booking. In Tokyo, Nakajima no Ochaya inside Hamarikyu Gardens serves matcha from 9:00 to 16:45, last order 16:30, and closes over the New Year holidays (as of 2026-10-10).25 The park association's garden leaflet lists a matcha-and-wagashi set there as a paid item but gives no price, so check the price at the teahouse (as of the leaflet posted 2026-02-28).30
Garden admission is charged separately: ¥300 general and ¥150 for visitors 65 and over, with free entry for elementary-age children and younger and for junior-high students living or studying in Tokyo (as of the leaflet posted 2026-02-28, checked 2026-10-11).30 Admission is free for everyone on May 4 and October 1, and the garden is open 9:00 to 17:00 with last entry at 16:30, closed December 29 to January 1 (as of 2026-10-11).30
These are Tokyo Metropolitan Park Association rules for one Tokyo garden; other cities' garden teahouses set their own fees and hours. Here 御茶屋 (ochaya) means a garden teahouse, not the geisha "teahouse" covered in Good to know below.25
Other Traditional Arts You Can Book
Tea is one of several traditional arts offered as short, bookable sessions. Each of the examples below is one venue's offer, not a citywide rate.
Calligraphy (shodo)
At Wayoh Japanese Calligraphy Class in Yushima (Bunkyo, Tokyo), you choose a favorite word, practice it, then ink it onto a fan or framed paper and finish with a personal hiragana stamp.31 The calligraphy experience costs ¥5,000 (as of 2026-01-28; confirm current figures with GO TOKYO or the studio), and a custom 色紙 (shikishi, square calligraphy board) of up to 10 characters costs ¥10,000 (as of 2026-01-28).31 Classes run in Japanese and English.31
A 2018 nippon.com feature described a similar beginner format elsewhere in Tokyo: an English-language class teaching 楷書 (kaisho, block script), with a kanji written on paper or a fan to take home.32 Check current prices with any studio directly.
Ikebana
The ikebana schools run visitor lessons themselves. In Tokyo, Sogetsu's International Class is taught in English on Mondays except national holidays, 10:30 to 12:30, with a trial lesson at ¥6,000 and a regular lesson at ¥7,000, both including two bunches of flowers and tax (as of 2026-10-10).33 Sogetsu trial lessons take 90 to 120 minutes and must be booked at least five days ahead, excluding weekends and holidays (as of 2026-10-10).34
In Kyoto, Ikenobo holds a trial lesson for visitors on Thursdays from 13:30 to 15:30 except national holidays, for ¥7,000 per person with 2 to 10 participants, guided in English or Chinese (as of 2026-10-10).35 The group meets at the Rokkakudo front gate, and you can take your flowers home.35 Cancelling one to two days before, on the day, or without notice costs ¥3,000 per person (as of 2026-10-10).35
A shorter venue-run option is UZUMASA KYOTO VILLAGE's ikebana session in Kyoto: about 35 minutes for ¥2,700 with an Ikenobo-affiliated instructor, advance bookings given priority (as of 2026-10-10).21 華道 (kadō, "the Way of flowers") is the formal name for the art.21
Wagashi making
Kanshundo Higashi-ten, a confectioner near Kiyomizu in Kyoto, sells a class through VELTRA: ¥3,700 per person for groups of two or more, about an hour of making three to four seasonal sweets plus 15 minutes for matcha, ages 5 and up (as of 2026-10-10).36 The sweets are boxed for you to take home.36
Cancellation costs 50 percent from two business days before and 100 percent within one business day (as of 2026-10-10).36 The listing states no allergen information (as of 2026-10-10); if you have allergies, ask before booking and see Food Allergies in Japan: Communication Cards and Cross-Contamination Risk and Gluten-Free Travel in Japan: What's Easy and What's Nearly Impossible.36
Taiko drumming
TAIKO-LAB Shin-Yokohama offers an experience lesson from ¥3,000 for 1 hour 30 minutes (as of 2026-10-10).37 That is a Yokohama (Kanagawa) price; Tokyo studios set their own rates.
Zazen at a temple (day sessions)
座禅 (zazen, seated Zen meditation) sessions at Kyoto temples range from private English-language experiences to short self-guided sittings. At Shunkoin, "The Way of Zen" is a private experience of at least two hours, limited to five people per group and one group per day, in Japanese and English, with fees given on request (as of 2026-10-10).38 Shunkoin also runs a 120-minute "Kissako" Zen and tea experience for groups of 8 to 10 depending on season; reservations are required (as of 2026-10-10).38
Ryosokuin takes individual, group, and private bookings (as of 2026-10-10).39 Its self-guided zazen, booked through its linked Asoview page, costs ¥4,000 for 45 minutes from 9:30 to 10:15, requires advance booking, and is staffed by Japanese speakers only (as of 2026-10-10).24 The same page lists 写経 (shakyō, sutra copying) at ¥4,000 for 1.5 hours (as of 2026-10-10).24
Ryosokuin's booking page states no cancellations or refunds once you have paid, and it releases reservations one month at a time (as of 2026-10-10).24 Book only once your Kyoto dates are fixed.
Follow the temple's instructions on posture and silence once the session starts. This article covers day sessions only; for overnight practice see Shukubo Temple Stays, and for temple food see Vegetarian and Vegan Travel in Japan: The Honest Difficulty Level.
Booking
Where to book
You can book directly with many venues: Camellia on its own site, Urasenke's gallery tea service through its reservation site or by phone, and Ikenobo by email (as of 2026-10-10; confirm current booking channels with each venue).9835 Activity platforms also list sessions, including byFood and Rakuten Travel Experiences; Ryosokuin routes individual bookings to Asoview, and Kanshundo's class is sold on VELTRA (as of 2026-10-10).1013392436
Read the language line on any listing. Rakuten's Kyoto tea listing, for example, is offered in Japanese (as of 2026-10-10).13 Hotels and cultural facilities also host tea houses, particularly in Kyoto, so a concierge is another route.3
Lead times and cancellation terms
Lead times and refund rules are set by each venue or platform (as of 2026-10-10), and they differ widely.
| Venue or listing | Booking lead time | Cancellation | As of |
|---|---|---|---|
| Camellia (Kyoto) | Not stated | Full refund up to 3 days before; none after; groups of 8 or more asked for a week's notice | 2026-10-1040 |
| byFood listing (Kyoto) | Not stated | Free up to 2 days before | 2026-10-1010 |
| Urasenke gallery tea service (Kyoto) | By 15:00 the day before | Not stated | 2026-10-108 |
| Sogetsu (Tokyo) | 5 days, excluding weekends and holidays | Not stated | 2026-10-103334 |
| Ikenobo (Kyoto) | Not stated | Notify 3 or more days before; ¥3,000 fee within 2 days | 2026-10-1035 |
| Ryosokuin (Kyoto) | Advance booking required; released one month at a time | No cancellation after payment | 2026-10-1024 |
| Kanshundo via VELTRA (Kyoto) | Not stated | 50% from 2 business days before; 100% within 1 | 2026-10-1036 |
| UZUMASA KYOTO VILLAGE (Kyoto) | Advance tickets prioritized | Not stated | 2026-10-1011 |
| Tokyo Grand Tea Ceremony 2026 (Tokyo) | No advance booking; same-day only | Not applicable | 2026-08-2026 |
Popular classes fill early. Sogetsu's International Class page already showed some 2026–27 beginner dates as fully booked (as of 2026-10-10).33
What to confirm when you book
Venue pages answer some of these questions and leave others open, so check each before you pay:
- Language. Camellia performs sessions in English and lets translators join private sessions free; the Rakuten listing is in Japanese (as of 2026-10-10).1213
- Seating. Whether chairs or a ryūrei table are available, and how many.
- Allergens in the sweet. Camellia states its sweets are vegan, gluten-free, and nut-free and takes allergy notes at checkout (as of 2026-10-10).12 No other venue in this article publishes allergen details.
- Photography. Whether photos are allowed, and when.
- Payment. Ikenobo accepts card, WeChat Pay, or yen cash on the day (as of 2026-10-10).35
- Age and dress limits. UZUMASA KYOTO VILLAGE's tea experience excludes children under 3 and participants in period costume (as of 2026-10-10).11
- Arrival time and meeting point. Camellia cannot admit late arrivals to shared sessions once the performance has started (as of 2026-10-10).12
Public tea gatherings and city events
Public tea events are tied to one city and one organizer, and most run on fixed dates rather than as standing programs.
Tokyo Grand Tea Ceremony 2026 (Tokyo only)
The 東京大茶会 (Tokyo Grand Tea Ceremony) is organized by the Tokyo Metropolitan Government and the Tokyo Metropolitan Foundation for History and Culture (as of 2026-08-20).26 In 2026 it runs at the Edo-Tokyo Open Air Architectural Museum on October 24 and 25 (10:30 to 16:00, tickets 9:30 to 15:10) and at Hamarikyu Gardens from October 31 to November 1 (10:00 to 17:30, tickets 7:45 to 15:40) (as of 2026-08-20).26
A tea seat costs ¥800, a children's tea ¥500, and other experiences ¥500 (as of 2026-08-20).26 At Hamarikyu, garden admission is charged separately (as of 2026-08-20).26
There are no advance applications for the 2026 Tokyo Grand Tea Ceremony; all tickets are sold on the day at the venue (as of 2026-08-20).26 Arrive early in the ticket window if a particular seat matters to you.
Kitano Tenmangu (Kyoto only)
Kitano Tenmangu, a shrine in Kyoto, traces its tea tradition to the grand tea gathering Toyotomi Hideyoshi held there in 1587.41 It hosts three kinds of recurring tea events.
- 献茶祭 (kenchasai, tea-offering festival) is held every December 1, with tea seats set up across the grounds.41 For 2025 the ticket set cost ¥10,000, sold from November 1 at the shrine's Bundō Kaikan hall, with same-day tickets offered (as of 2025-10-31).42
- The 梅花祭 (Baikasai, plum blossom festival) outdoor tea is held February 25 in the plum garden, served by geiko and maiko from the Kamishichiken district.41 For 2025 the ticket cost ¥3,000 (as of 2025-01-25).43
- 月釜 (tsukigama, monthly tea) runs at Meigetsusha on the 1st and 15th and at Shōkōken on the 15th, 9:00 to 15:00 with reception until 14:30, and needs no reservation (as of 2026-10-10).28 Meigetsusha is closed on January 1, August 15, December 1, and December 15; Shōkōken does not hold it in January or August.28
The larger "Kitano Dai Chakai" held at the shrine on October 11–13, 2025 was a one-off: the grand finale of Kyoto Prefecture's 2025 tea expo (as of 2025-08-26).44 The expo's own page does not mention a 2026 continuation (as of 2026-10-10).45
| Term | Reading | Meaning |
|---|---|---|
| 野点 | nodate | Outdoor tea41 |
| 大茶会 / 大茶湯 | daichakai / ōchanoyu | Large public tea gathering2641 |
| 月釜 | tsukigama | Monthly public tea gathering28 |
Good to know
Socks matter more than shoes
Shoes come off before the tearoom, and what is left on your feet is what touches the tatami. Urasenke lists white socks among the items a beginner student brings to class, and Waraku magazine advises changing into clean white socks on arrival, noting that bare feet can damage tatami.4647 Venues set their own rules, so a spare pair of clean socks is the simplest way to be ready for any of them.
Dress, scents, and jewelry
Waraku advises avoiding accessories, which can scratch tatami and bowls; avoiding fragrance, which interferes with the tea and incense; and avoiding tight jeans, which make kneeling in seiza harder.47 Camellia's page sets no dress code and offers kimono only as an optional add-on (as of 2026-10-10; confirm current details with Camellia).12
Tell the venue about allergies in advance
Ingredients in tea sweets vary by recipe and venue. Among the venues in this article, only Camellia publishes them: it declares vegan, gluten-free, and nut-free sweets and takes allergy notes at checkout, while the Kanshundo wagashi listing states no allergen information (as of 2026-10-10).1236 See Food Allergies in Japan: Communication Cards and Cross-Contamination Risk and Gluten-Free Travel in Japan: What's Easy and What's Nearly Impossible before you book.
Photography rules differ by venue
Camellia allows photos throughout its shared sessions but asks for no flash, no video, and respect for other guests' privacy (as of 2026-10-10).12 That is one venue's policy; ask the host before taking out a camera elsewhere. Street photography in Gion is a separate matter, covered in The Gion Photography Controversy: What Changed and Why It Matters to Visitors.
"Teahouse" does not always mean a tearoom
In Kyoto, geiko and maiko entertain select clientele in exclusive teahouses.48 Kanazawa's Higashi-Chaya district was established in 1820 as a place for geiko to entertain wealthy merchants with music, dance, and games.49 These geisha teahouses, お茶屋 (ochaya), are not a 茶室 (chashitsu), the room where a tea gathering takes place.4
Different hosts, different "correct" moves
Urasenke and Omotesenke both describe two turns, Urakuen describes one 90-degree turn, and JNTO notes subtle differences across dozens of schools.171473 The two big schools also differ on how frothy the tea is whisked and which foot enters the room first.50
Ibasen's guide to tea ceremony manners makes the same point: etiquette "may vary depending on the school."51 Copy your host.
Small venues may be cash-only
Kitano Tenmangu sells festival tickets at the shrine's reception and needs no reservation for its monthly tea; its pages state no payment method (as of 2026-10-10).4228 The Tokyo Grand Tea Ceremony sells tickets on the day at the venue only (as of 2026-08-20).26 Pay on site and bring cash in case cards are not accepted; see Is Japan Still a Cash-Only Country? for the wider picture.
Platform bookings work the other way. Ryosokuin's Asoview booking is paid in advance, and Camellia issues refunds in yen through Stripe (as of 2026-10-10).2440
Uji is its own tea trip
Uji, south of Kyoto, is a tea-growing town with its own tea houses and tea experiences. It is covered in Day Trip: Uji's Tea Culture and Byodo-in.
See also
- A Culture and History-Focused Japan Itinerary Framework
- Shrine vs. Temple: Reading the Etiquette Differences
- Photography at Shrines and Temples: Where It's Welcome and Where It's Not
- Kyoto Neighborhoods: Higashiyama, Arashiyama, and Downtown
- English Signage and English-Speaking Staff: The Real Regional and Venue Variance